Cliff Richard - Two's Company

As most of you will have read over the last couple of months Cliff Richard’s new album was released on 6th November and is flying high in the charts.  This album "TWO'S COMPANY - THE DUETS" is a mix of Cliff singing with a different array of artists.  He spent several days in the recording studio mixing the track “Let There be Love” with Matt Monro
Several artists have jumped on the band wagon lately ranging from Tony Bennett with “Duets, An American Classic”, Frank Sinatra with Duets 1 & 11, Johnny Mathis with “Better Together”, Herbie Hancock with “Not the Latest, But One of the Greatest”, Kenny G with “At Last”, Olivia Newton John’s entitled “2”, Olivia's 2002 duet CD was released in Japan on Oct 13 2004 and contained a bonus duet with Cliff Richard of "Let It Be Me".

Even years back Doris Day used the title “Duet” when she collaborated with the Andre Previn Orchestra with songs arranged by Previn. Columbia Records issued the album on 22nd February 1962 in both monaural and stereophonic.

Bringing two artists together can be a tremendous bonus for fans of that music where you quite simply get two for the price of one.  Cliff Richard has managed a perfect mix of pace and style and shows a unique chemistry between an artist and their art.
Recently the veteran pop star became a DJ for a day at the studios of Radio Wey FM and in-between playing some of his favourite tracks he also talked about his home on St George’s Hill, Weybridge and his collection of cars which include a Bentley and a Ford Thunderbird
Cliff’s musical choices were The Ring by Barratt Waugh, You & Me by Joe Bonamassa, Let There Be Love by Matt Monro, ending with two of his own hits - My Kind Of Life and the very first song he recorded, Move It.
Cliff, who opened the hospital station’s current studio 17 years ago, told interviewer Alan Timbrell: ‘I wanted to do something for Radio Wey FM because I’ve had a long association with the hospital station. features the recent 30-minute interview with Sir Cliff that includes Matt’s song “Let there be Love”.
A few weeks ago mum and I received a letter from Cliff telling us that on his forthcoming tour, he will be performing the song, “Let there be Love” as a duet with one of his backing vocalists and they planned to project photographs of Matt on the backdrop as they sing.  Off with went to Wembley Arena on Sunday 5th November as guests of Cliff.  The show, as one would expect, was terrific and the emphasis was strongly on the two most recent albums with some past favourites thrown in for good measure.


The moment finally came and Cliff made the announcement about his new album, and upon mention of the collaboration with Matt Monro, the audience burst into thunderous applause.  The song followed and although it was slightly odd that someone else was singing Matt’s vocals, it worked brilliantly with giant sized images of Matt projected onto massive backdrops.  I have to say we thought it was fantastic and a wonderful gesture on Cliff’s part paying his respects to one great artist from another.  If you get the chance to see his show, then do, a great evening’s entertainment.

There is a sampler of the Matt Monro/Cliff Richard duet on - in the sound gallery.

Track Listing: Two’s Company – The Duets

  • MOVE IT with Brian May and Brian Bennett
  • YESTERDAY ONCE MORE with Daniel O’Donnell
  • SHE MEANS NOTHING TO ME – with Phil Everley
  • ALL I ASK OF YOU with Sarah Brightman
  • LET THERE BE LOVE with Matt Monro
  • THROW DOWN A LINE with Hank Marvin
  • FIELDS OF GOLD with Barry Gibb
  • UP WHERE WE BELONG with Anne Murray
  • SLOW RIVERS with Elton John
  • SUDDENLY with Olivia Newton John
  • DANNY BOY with Helmut Lotti
  • REUNITED with Lulu

Catalogue number EMI 0094637707227