NEWS

September 2011

Last month I wrote to you saying things were absolutely manic and I nearly suffered a meltdown or maybe I did suffer one, I’ve always been slightly wacky so it’s hard to tell. Well in fact there I was laying in bed the other night and I suddenly found it hard to breathe. I’d woken up with bad stabbing pain over my heart area but ignored it thinking I must have pulled a muscle. By 11.00pm that night I was in real difficulty and thought that if I ignored the intense pain I might not make the night. I know that might sound dramatic but I honestly felt I was in the midst of a massive heart attack.

Several hours later the hospital put my mind at rest. I had what they call ‘Costochondritis’. It is an inflammation in the joints between the cartilages that join the ribs to the sternum. It would appear that at its worst the cartilage had gone into spasm but an injection into my chest wall made things much easier and after a liberal dose of Diazepam I passed out for the best part of two days.

Harrow Community Radio

Harrow Community Radio 2

I apologize to all the listeners of Harrow Community Station because I did the whole programme in a fog but hopefully it came across OK. I had no choice but to cancel a couple of things because I had my big moment with The One Show people. They spent one whole day here interviewing me and talking about dad and various places we could go for an outside broadcast and then another day spent filming. Unbelievable when you think it will probably only be a 4-minute piece. But tune in anyway on Friday 9th September, BBC at 7.00pm. The BBC were wonderful actually in that they allowed me to choice a date that would best serve the publicity surrounding the Launch.

One Show

That is the big thing to focus on now, 13 days to go and I am really looking forward to the whole day. Of course Richard and I have spent months putting together everything for Fans Reunited and we are looking forward to welcoming our ‘old’ friends as well as all the new faces that are coming from far and wide. As with anything that has been in the diary for a few months we have had a few casualties along the way. Val Doonican, Vince Hill, David Jacobs and Ed Stewart cannot come now and Virginia McKenna has informed me that she is not sure what day her daughter-in-law is due to give birth but I am staying optimistic that the baby will come early!!! Regardless of these minor upsets, it promises to be a great night.

The guest list is shaping up nicely and I am delighted to have now had acceptances from Esther Rantzen, Buddy Greco, David Hamilton, Sir George Martin, Gerard Kenny, Graeme Harper, June Marlow, Mike Winters, Paul Gambaccini, Pete Conway, Rosemary Squires, Shane Rimmer, Tony Christie and Virginia McKenna. I can also add my brother’s name to that list for all of you that have asked. I am yet to hear from a few people so that list might well be extended..

I now have copies in my hand of the paperback and the special edition but am still waiting on the CD. The Bookazine is going to be late coming out but I still haven’t been given a date although I am hoping there are a few copies at the event so that our American friends can take one home with them if required.

Bookazine

The Bookazine (The Man Behind the Voice) set will include a 64-page magazine with more than 60 photographs, the majority of which were not included in the book, a 20 track CD, including two tracks that have never been released and four that have only appeared on compact disc once before. We are also including the original 7” vinyl of Portrait of My Love. The replica is perfect even down to the original catalogue number, a really special keepsake.
The special edition book was reprinted because over the course of the last 18 months there were an additional 16 pages of content so I thought it wise to reprint while there was an opportunity. The condition of sale in that you have to already purchased Special Reserve. The price will be £15.00 and it will be available at Fans Reunited.

Titan are finally going to release the manuscript as an EBook and I know that is something a lot of you have asked for. It has taken a while to get the go-ahead but it is nice to know that we are catching up with modern technology. I’m still waiting for an official release date on Amazon.

Vintage

Vintage at Southbank (29/30/31 July was brilliant. You might remember that I did this music festival at Glorious Goodwood last year but this year the venue was in London. The organisers took over the Festival Hall for all the entertainment and all the traders were set up around that building. My brother did a great spot at the event on the Saturday but I didn’t get an opportunity to pop over and watch him work. If you would like to see all the photos from my days at Vintage pop over to www.facebook.com/michelemonro

I did however go over to The Peasantry in King’s Road to see my friend Gerard Kenny, who was superb as usual. If any of you haven’t seen him live you really should take the opportunity when he is next at that venue. It is a part of Pizza Express so as well as great food it is an intimate room and you get a really good seat.

Gerrard Kenny

One piece of great news is that I was up for a job as a British Interest Speaker for a cruise agency and it would seem that I have passed all the interviews (and boy were there a lot). Sixth Star has now taken me into their fold and in fact have offered me three cruises over a two-day period, sadly I couldn’t accept any of them because my dates were busy but hopefully at the end of next year I might be seeing some of you while we cruise the seaways.

I have also been fortunate in obtaining our dear friend Jack Jackson’s Matt Monro collection. It needed a transit van and has now taken over the whole of my lounge – and I do mean the whole room. It will probably take me the best part of a year to catalogue everything but the good news is that I will be selling off anything that I end up with doubles of so watch this space. I am particularly thrilled as I now probably have the biggest collection of Matt Monro music in the world and after years of searching also have the original acetate of the Pepsi commercials dad made in America. I did have a copy of the commercials and they were going to be included in The Rarer Monro anyway but now Richard has the master to work with I’m sure the sound will be greatly improved.

This month’s Spotlight focuses on Connie Francis so be sure to check that out.

I am still making an appearance every Wednesday on Siren 107.8FM’s ‘Midweek Drive’. The weekly slot allows me to select some of the lesser-known tracks of dad and that is wonderful as it gives me a chance to play a broader range. Siren have actually asked me to pre-record shows for the dates I am not here next year although we are hoping to do a few live phone-ins from Australia and America so that should be both fun and challenging.

There are all manner of radio shows that I shall be popping up on over the coming month so be sure to check out ‘Radio Promotions’ in the Forum. I have also made another one hour radio show which will be available following the Launch so that should also be popping up on various radio channels around the country.

My good friend Mike Ellis has also launched a brand new radio station called Family Radio 1 and I am thrilled to say he is including a permanent spot just for Matt Monro. Go and check out the area and there is also a n interview I did with Vince Tracy not so long ago - http://www.familyradio1.com/matt_monro.htm
If you like what he has done do email him and let him know, he has even offered to extend the amount of air time if he gets enough requests.

 ‘Friends of Matt Monro’ is our official Fan Club and is run by Geraldine Vine. If you would like to join then contact Geraldine on or access our website and go through to the ‘News’ page. By scrolling down the page you will find the heading ‘Friends of Matt Monro’ and print off an application form.

Membership includes a Welcome Pack and four issues of our exclusive newsletter. Where possible we give you advanced access to concert tickets and pre-sales as well as the opportunity of purchasing tickets for concerts, personal appearances and special gatherings. The Newsletter also features discounts on exclusive merchandise and Geraldine runs several competitions with the chance to win tickets and merchandise. Membership is £15.00 single/£18.00 joint membership for fans in England or £18.00 single/£21.00 joint membership for overseas fans.

In an effort to stay abreast with technology last year saw the appearance of my very own Facebook page - http://www.facebook.com/michelemonro and now EMI have followed suit with a dedicated Matt Monro Facebook page. It would be wonderful if you could pop in and become a fan, the more the merrier - http://www.facebook.com/mattmonro. It will hopefully mean that we can reach even more people, some who might not know about the website.

Please don’t forget to let me know if you have anything related to dad, whether a story, a photo or an old radio show. Or maybe you have some old VHS formats laying in the attic that might have a television show on it. We can always have it transferred for you at our costs. As Richard and I unearth these rarities we are constantly told “but we thought you must have it”. Please don’t be shy; you might have something we are looking for. I repeat this message every month just in case it jogs someone’s memory and in fact a few weeks ago Henry Puccinelli remembered a radio dad did in San Francisco that he had in his attic so I am thrilled to report that it is winging its way over to London as we speak.

I am also thrilled to announce that I am taking several months off next year. On 9th January 2012 I am hitching a ride aboard P&O Arcadia and making my way to Australia. I have family there that I haven’t seen in 40 years and I thought it time to drop in for tea. Mum and dad visited the country fifteen times and always raved about it so I decided that if I don’t get going now I might never get across the pond. I certainly couldn’t fly; I’d die en-route of claustrophobia or the like. I will be spending about five weeks in the country travelling to Sydney, Perth, Brisbane and of course The Great Barrier Reef and I am hoping to meet up with some of you along the way. My route back is slightly different and the 15 April will see me board the Sea Princess in Sydney and go across to San Francisco. I will then meet Marion Spence (Johnnie Spence’s wife) in Las Vegas before heading to her home in Los Angeles. There are dozens of port stops along route so again I am hoping for the chance to meet up with lots of you from that side of the world, as I won’t fly back to London until June. I am delighted to have had an invitation for a drink with Henry Puccinelli who lives in San Francisco so that should be a lot of fun. With Max firmly ensconced in University, this trip will take my mind off what will be a very hard parting of the ways. I have had either my mum or Max at my side for the last 25 years so it will be a difficult transition, so I thought an adventure was called for.

Business will carry on as usual because in this day and age everything can be done by either telephone or email. I am delighted to announce that next year’s release will be The Rarer Monro but I have scheduled it for September so that will give me plenty of time to work on it and do the relevant publicity for the project once I get back.

My itinerary for 2012 is as follows:

Monday 9th January:

Embark Southampton, England

Tuesday 10th January:

At Sea

Wednesday 11th January:

At Sea

Thursday 12th January:

At Sea 

Friday 13th January:

Barcelona, Spain - Full Day

Saturday 14th January:

At Sea

Sunday 15th January:

At Sea

Monday 16th January:

Athens (Piraeus), Greece - Full Day

Tuesday 17th January:

At Sea 

Wednesday 18th January:

Port Said, Egypt - Full Day & Evening

Thursday 19th January:                 

Suez Canal Daytime Transit

Friday 20th January                

Aqaba, Jordan - Full Day

Saturday 21st January:           

Luxor/Karnak, Egypt - Full Day & Evening

Sunday 22nd January:

At Sea

Monday 23rd January:

At Sea

Tuesday 24th January:

At Sea

Wednesday 25th January:

At Sea             

Thursday 26th January:

At Sea

Friday 27th January:

  Dubai, United Arab Emirates - Full Day

Saturday 28th January:

At Sea

Sunday 29th January:

At Sea

Monday 30th January:

Mumbai (formerly Bombay), India - Full Day

Tuesday 31st January:

At Sea

Wednesday 1st February:       

Cochin, India - Full Day

Thursday 2nd February:             

Colombo - Full Day & Evening

Friday 3rd February:

At Sea

Saturday 4th February:

At Sea

Sunday 5th February:                 

Phuket, Thailand - Full Day

Monday 6th February:

At Sea

Tuesday 7th February:

Singapore - Full Day   

Wednesday 8th February:

At Sea

Thursday 9th February:      

Sihanoukville, Cambodia - Full Day

Friday 10th February:

Laem Chabang - Full Day

Saturday 11th February:

At Sea

Sunday 12th February:       

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam- Full Day

Monday 13th February:

At Sea

Tuesday 14th February:               

Ha Long Bay - Full Day

Wednesday 15th February:

At Sea

Thursday 16th February:

Hong Kong, China - Full Day & Evening

Friday 17th February:             

Hong Kong, China- Early Morning      

Saturday 18th February:

At Sea

Sunday 19th February:            

Shanghai, China - Full Day

Monday 20th February:

At Sea

Tuesday 21st February:     

Beijing, China- Full Day & Evening

Wednesday 22nd February:

At Sea

Thursday 23rd February:               

Nagasaki, Japan - Afternoon & Evening

Friday 24th February:

At Sea

Saturday 25th February:               

Osaka, Japan - Full Day

Sunday 26th February:

At Sea

Monday 27th February:

At Sea

Tuesday 28th February:

At Sea

Wednesday 29th February:

At Sea

Thursday 1st March:

At Sea

Friday 2nd March:

Rabaul  - Full Day

Saturday 3rd March:

At Sea

Sunday 4th March:

At Sea

Monday 5th March:         

Cairns, Yorkey's Knob - Full Day

Tuesday 6th March:

At Sea

Wednesday 7th March  

Brisbane, Australia - Full Day

Thursday 8th March:

At Sea 

Friday 9th March:     

Sydney, Australia - Full Day & Evening

Saturday 10th March:               

Sydney, Australia - Early Morning

Sunday 11th March:               

Melbourne, Australia – Disembark

Sunday 11th March - Wednesday 11th April – Australia

Thursday 12th April

Fly Melbourne to Sydney

Friday 13th April:

Sydney

Saturday 14th April:

Sydney

Sunday 15th April:

Sydney – Embark

Monday 16th April:

At Sea

Tuesday 17th April:

At Sea

Wednesday 18th April:

Fiordland National Park New Zealand

Thursday 19th April:

Dunedin (Port Chalmers), New Zealand

Friday 20th April:

Christchurch, New Zealand

Saturday 21st April:

At Sea

Sunday 22nd April:

Auckland, New Zealand

Monday 23rd April:

At Sea

Tuesday 24th April:

At Sea

Wednesday 25th April:

At Sea

Wednesday 25th April:

Suva, Fiji

Wednesday 25th April:

Cross International Dateline

Thursday 26th April:

Pago Pago, American Samoa

Friday 27th April:

At Sea

Saturday 28th April:

At Sea

Sunday 29th April:

Bora Bora, French Polynesia

Monday 30th April:

Papeete, Tahiti, French Polynesia

Tuesday 1st May:

Papeete, Tahiti, French Polynesia

Wednesday 2nd May:

At Sea

Thursday 3rd May:

At Sea

Friday 4th May:

At Sea

Saturday 5th May:

At Sea

Sunday 6th May:

At Sea

Monday 7th May:

Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Tuesday 8th May:

Maui (Lahaina), USA

Wednesday 9th May:

At Sea

Thursday 10th May:

At Sea

Friday 11th May:

At Sea

Saturday 12th May:

At Sea

Sunday 13th May:

Disembark San Francisco

 

 

Monday 14th May:

San Francisco

Tuesday 15th May:

San Francisco

Wednesday 16th May:

Flight to Las Vegas

Thursday 17th May:

Las Vegas

Friday 18th May:

Las Vegas

Saturday 19th May

Las Vegas (Marion Flies Out)

Sunday 20th May:

Las Vegas

Monday 21st May:

Flight to Los Angeles

Monday 21st May – Tuesday 19th June – Los Angeles

Wednesday 20th June:                      Air New Zealand to London
Thursday 21st June:                           Land London Heathrow

That is the itinerary as it stands today but will be subject to change as I detail certain days in Australia and the USA.

Check out the ‘Rough Guide to mattmonro.com’, which is available towards the bottom of the Homepage. A few of you have mentioned that you don’t know how to access certain areas of the site or in fact are unaware of new areas, this guide will explain how easy this website is to get around, once you know how.

There is also another information box “How to Use the Forum’. I know a lot of people have been tempted to join in on some of our conversations but are slightly nervous of doing so. For that reason I have printed step-by-step instructions of how to access it. It really does only take a few minutes.

Until October here’s wishing you a wonderful 2011 and may your year be filled with music.

Warmest
Michele Monro

 

Past News - August 2011

Past News - July 2011

L;

Press Play to start slideshow.

Galley Instructions.

Hover your mouse pointer over the control panel in the bottom left hand corner of the above slide show. This will bring up the controls, the title of the photograph and the option to view all thumbnails

Slideshow Part 2

 

Amazon
  - Press this link to see the Amazon Listing for The Singers Singer by Michele Monro

Competition
forum
pipeline
Trailers
track
ring
Photos
scrap
friends
poll
mail

friend
front page
lyric
nscfc fans
Bond
Cliff
man
golden